use of copied history while original user account deleled (and purged)

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
2 messages Options
| Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

use of copied history while original user account deleled (and purged)

Olivia Doppelt

Dear Developers,

We manage a Galaxy instance at Institut Pasteur where there are more than a hundred users. Among them there are postdocs that are meant to
leave the institute.

Our Galaxy instance is configured with LDAP authentication. The LDAP entry is suppressed shortly after the end of contracts.

We are facing the following problem:

A user left a few month ago,
     1/ before leaving, she shared interesting histories with another colleague of the lab.

     2/ before leaving, the colleague created a copy of every shared history in her own Galaxy account.

     3/ The colleague made a few tests to check that the data were really transfered, by displaying them or downloading them and everything was ok.

     4/ The time passed and the ldap user account of the user who left was suppressed. We deleted then purged her Galaxy account.

     5/ The colleague has tried to relaunch some analysis using the copied histories. The data are there as her colleague is able to download the files or display them, but the jobs haven't been launched. They have remained grey in the copied history.

The problem is that there are no logs at all on the galaxy side. No command line is generated either.

On the reporting side of Galaxy, we see that the jobs have been created but their status remains "NEW'

We know that this will be a recurrent problem if we can't resolve it.

Have someone already complained about something like that?

Best regards,

--
Olivia Doppelt-Azeroual, PhD
Fabien Mareuil, PhD

Bioinformatics Engineer
Galaxy Team - CIB/C3BI
Institut Pasteur, Paris




___________________________________________________________
Please keep all replies on the list by using "reply all"
in your mail client.  To manage your subscriptions to this
and other Galaxy lists, please use the interface at:
  https://lists.galaxyproject.org/

To search Galaxy mailing lists use the unified search at:
  http://galaxyproject.org/search/mailinglists/
| Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Re: use of copied history while original user account deleled (and purged)

John Chilton-4
This sounds like a pretty serious bug - but I have not heard of other
people encountering it explicitly. There was a brief period of time
when 15.03 release had a similar bug (I believe it was patched by
https://github.com/galaxyproject/galaxy/pull/21) - but it was merged
before we actually announced the release. Is there some chance you
Galaxy instance was running the release_15.03 branch of Galaxy on
github before we actually announced the release?

-John

On Thu, Apr 23, 2015 at 12:02 PM, Olivia Doppelt-Azeroual
<[hidden email]> wrote:

>
> Dear Developers,
>
> We manage a Galaxy instance at Institut Pasteur where there are more than a
> hundred users. Among them there are postdocs that are meant to
> leave the institute.
>
> Our Galaxy instance is configured with LDAP authentication. The LDAP entry
> is suppressed shortly after the end of contracts.
>
> We are facing the following problem:
>
> A user left a few month ago,
>     1/ before leaving, she shared interesting histories with another
> colleague of the lab.
>
>     2/ before leaving, the colleague created a copy of every shared history
> in her own Galaxy account.
>
>     3/ The colleague made a few tests to check that the data were really
> transfered, by displaying them or downloading them and everything was ok.
>
>     4/ The time passed and the ldap user account of the user who left was
> suppressed. We deleted then purged her Galaxy account.
>
>     5/ The colleague has tried to relaunch some analysis using the copied
> histories. The data are there as her colleague is able to download the files
> or display them, but the jobs haven't been launched. They have remained grey
> in the copied history.
>
> The problem is that there are no logs at all on the galaxy side. No command
> line is generated either.
>
> On the reporting side of Galaxy, we see that the jobs have been created but
> their status remains "NEW'
>
> We know that this will be a recurrent problem if we can't resolve it.
>
> Have someone already complained about something like that?
>
> Best regards,
>
> --
> Olivia Doppelt-Azeroual, PhD
> Fabien Mareuil, PhD
>
> Bioinformatics Engineer
> Galaxy Team - CIB/C3BI
> Institut Pasteur, Paris
>
>
>
>
> ___________________________________________________________
> Please keep all replies on the list by using "reply all"
> in your mail client.  To manage your subscriptions to this
> and other Galaxy lists, please use the interface at:
>  https://lists.galaxyproject.org/
>
> To search Galaxy mailing lists use the unified search at:
>  http://galaxyproject.org/search/mailinglists/
___________________________________________________________
Please keep all replies on the list by using "reply all"
in your mail client.  To manage your subscriptions to this
and other Galaxy lists, please use the interface at:
  https://lists.galaxyproject.org/

To search Galaxy mailing lists use the unified search at:
  http://galaxyproject.org/search/mailinglists/